Christian Reformed Church of St. Albert

Our Staff

Tony Maan - Pastor

It is with thankfulness that the Lord has called MaryAnn and me to serve the Christian Reformed Church of St. Albert family in January of 2017. We are blessed with four children, their spouses, and twelve grandchildren.

In addition to being a divine calling, I understand pastoral ministry to be a wonderful way to be engaged in the venture of salvation and renewal at the heart of church life. It is my conviction that the most important role of the pastor is to live as an active participant and leader in the body of Christ as it is embodied in the local church family. I consider my ministry to be ‘incarnational’: that is, by God’s grace I am called to be the presence of Jesus to those I walk with. This implies leadership as a servant, applying my knowledge, skills, experience and heart to guide the church family along the path of Christian faith and life. My primary model for leadership is the biblical metaphor of the shepherd – an individual who leads by serving the best interests of the flock for the sake of their growth and God’s glory. As a pastor I must provide spiritual sustenance for the congregation under my watch through sound biblical preaching based on good exegetical practices and time tested theology, creative teaching, guidance in terms of setting direction and creating visions, and pastoral support in times of need. When this happens, I sense that I am adhering to my role and vision as a pastor.

The educational path the Lord has used to prepare me for the various aspects of pastoral ministry (pastoral care and spiritual counsel, preaching, teaching, administrative and organizational skills) begins with parents who taught the truths of Christian life through their love, words and example. After high School I earned a Bachelor’s Degree at Calvin College, a Liberal Arts school in Grand Rapids, Michigan. This was followed with a Master’s of Divinity degree at Calvin Theological Seminary. Following 15 years of pastoral ministry I earned a PhD in Reformation history from the University of Alberta (Edmonton, Alberta), completed in 2009.

Contact Pastor Tony at pastor@crcsa.org

Nathan Bootsma - Director of Music Ministries

Nathan is a multi-faceted freelance musician who enjoys wearing many different musical hats. He is a music educator, a multi-instrumentalist, a sought-after soloist (vocal) and can be seen singing in the national award winning Chronos Vocal Ensemble as well as in Edmonton’s professional choir, Pro Coro Canada. Nathan graduated from The King’s University with a Bachelor of Arts in Music. He has been leading worship for more than 10 years, and has combined his passion for leading worship with his passion for music education in his vocation as the Director of Music Ministries at The Christian Reformed Church of St. Albert. He loves to incorporate different genres and traditions of music into worship.

Contact Nathan at music@crcsa.org

Lota Oji Kanu - Administrative Assistant

Lota is the Administrative Assistant for the Church. Her office hours are as follows:

    • Tuesday: 9 am - 2 pm
    • Thursday: 9 am - 2 pm
    • Friday: 9 am - 2 pm

Contact Lota at admin@crcsa.org or lota@crcsa.org

Please send bulletin submissions before Thursday 6 pm (latest by early Friday morning) to bulletin@crcsa.org

Our Council

Here is a listing of our current Council members and their contact information.

To contact full council please email the clerk at clerk@crcsa.org. Peter Buisman has been appointed the (non-voting) Clerk of Council.

Elders:

Joanne Munro (Chair of Council) - jmunro@crcsa.org

Douwe Spriensma (Vice Chair of Council) - dspriensma@crcsa.org

Tony Maan - (Pastor) - tmaan@crcsa.org

Dan Mackinnon - mackinnonfamily2009@hotmail.com

Randy Mann - rmann@crcsa.org

Deacons:

Brenda Van Ommen (Chair of Deacons) - brenda@crcsa.org

Andrew Seinen - aseinen@crcsa.org

Aaron Buisman - abuisman@crcsa.org

Darryl Hordyk - dehordyk@yahoo.com

Rob De Kleer - rdekleer@crcsa.org

Property & Grounds Committee

The Property and Grounds Committee is responsible for the maintenance of our wonderful church building. If you see anything that needs attention with our building and/or property please let the committee know through this email address: propertyandgrounds@crcsa.org.

Website Administrator

For questions or feedback on this website contact Kevin van Popta at 780-690-3907 or kvanpopta@crcsa.org. Or find me at a worship service (pictured here). The website contains a lot of information so don't hesitate to let me know if I got something wrong.